Oh Costco…What Would I Do Without You!

Today's Costco Trip

Today’s Costco Trip

There is something to be said for buying in bulk.  Not only do I feed five people, I entertain a lot and I am on a budget.  The key to staying within my grocery budget (or just a little bit over) is Costco.  Kosher meat is expensive…I know because my husband reminds me all the time!  My Costco carries many Kosher meat and cheese selections.  The ground beef and ground turkey are all in prepackaged 1 lb. containers so it goes straight from store to car to freezer.  I also purchase Salmon, Steelhead and Tilapia at Costco on a monthly basis.  We go through almost 6 lbs. of Tilapia a month (check out my Fish Tacos Recipe that my kids ask for every week).  I cut the Salmon and/or Steelhead into pieces, wrap them in plastic wrap (also from Costco) and then put the individual pieces in a ziplock bag in my freezer.  The individual servings make it much easier to make dinner for 3, 5 or 8 depending on who’s coming to dinner.

The Honey Nut Cheerios are a treat in our non-sugar cereal house.  I purchase it every other month and both bags are usually finished sometime around the second week.  All three of my kids are required to bring in fresh fruits and vegetables everyday for snacks so buying Clementines, blueberries, strawberries, apples, etc at Costco is a huge money saver.  The Kirkland brand jars of Marinara Sauce are delicious, Kosher parve and a steal at only $6.29 for three jars.  Once opened, they last a long time in the fridge or stay unopened in my basement pantry until needed.

Costco is also good for books, household goods, socks, etc, but for me and my family, it’s all about the food!

One thought on “Oh Costco…What Would I Do Without You!

Leave a Reply

