Menu: Week of February 17

Chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter balls in the middle and peanut butter icing...dessert from this past Friday night.

Chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter balls in the middle and peanut butter icing…dessert from this past Friday night.

We are now only two weeks away from moving into our new house. In those next two weeks, we have to finish taking down the grass-cloth wallpaper in the 503 square-foot den and paint it; take down the wallpaper in my son and middle daughter’s rooms, and paint all three kids rooms. It’s a lot of work and we’re doing it all ourselves and I LOVE IT! We’ve owned three homes in various states before this house but I know that this house is THE house. It’s the neighborhood I’ve always wanted to live in, it’s big enough for all of our belongings and plenty of room for entertaining, and the house itself has an interesting back story and a great vibe about it.

And while my husband and I are doing all of the work ourselves in the house, our amazing family and friends have been dropping off meals, helping with carpool and taking our kids for playdates; giving us a few more hours each day to get things done. They say it takes a village to raise a family and we have the greatest village/community out there!

All that being said, we still have to eat this week…

Sunday

  • Homemade Pizza Night
  • Salad
  • Buffalo Cauliflower for the adults and steamed for the kids
  • TIP: Yes, making sides two different ways is extra work but, it beats eating the plain steamed vegetables that my kids love.  And why should I try to get them to eat their vegetables any other way if I can already get my kids to eat them…isn’t that the idea?

Monday – My parents are taking the kids for the afternoon to make humantaschen (jelly filled, triangle shaped cookies) so we can get work done in the house.  They’re also going to feed them, bathe them and get them ready for bed.  The hubby and I will probably have cheese sandwiches for dinner while we take down more wallpaper.

Tuesday

  • Mom’s Meatloaf with Mushrooms, White and Sweet Potatoes and Carrots
  • Green Beans two ways (roasted with olive oil and garlic salt and steamed)
  • Vegetable Soup

Wednesday

Thursday

  • Leftover Night
  • Mexican Turkey Albondigas Soup  from Susie Fishbein’s Kosher by Design Lightens Up (One of our closest friends makes this soup regularly when we spend Shabbes with them.  It is so fantastic that I am willing to stay up late one night this week to cook it just so we can have leftovers in the freezer…it’s that good!)

Friday

  • Butternut Squash Soup
  • Challah
  • Ginger Apricot Chicken Thighs
  • Rice Pilaf
  • Roasted Vegetable Medley
  • Chocolate Chip Zuccini Bread with Dried Cherries

Saturday – We are having Shabbes lunch with close friends and then we’ll grab quick leftovers for dinner before going back to shul for Purim and eating more humantaschen.

I apologize if my menus are starting to get a bit boring.  Once we’re in the new house and unpacked we’ll get right back to trying several new recipes a week.  Thanks for sticking with me and stay tuned for the Before/After pictures of the new house.

2 thoughts on “Menu: Week of February 17

  1. The cauliflower sounds so yummy! I need to try to cut down on the flour though…
    I’m a huge fan of Bella’s — my favorite is the fig & balsamic — it’s wonderful on so many things. Besides tasting great, it’s also low on sugar & fat.

    • Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll have to try out the figs. We too are cutting back on the white flour so I used whole wheat flour for this recipe. Thanks for following!

Leave a Reply

