Menu: Week of March 10

Well, I made it out from under the immense pile of boxes today and realized that it was time to go back to cooking real meals again.  No more cold-cuts and yogurts for dinner (although never on the same night…just alternating each night!).  My kitchen is pretty much unpacked although I still can’t remember where I put things and my meat sink is now on the left which is throwing me off a little.  Nevertheless, we must eat real food again and we must start eating what’s in the freezer and pantry before Passover gets here.

Sunday

  • Homemade Pizzas (G-d bless you Alesci’s pre-made pizza dough just sitting in the freezer waiting for me!)
  • Salad
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Although we never eat dessert on a Sunday, good friends dropped off a cookie pie tonight and my uncle brought over two flavors of ice cream.  Every once in awhile it’s okay to live a little!

Monday

  • Tilapia Fish Tacos
  • Creamy Cilantro Sauce
  • Spanish Rice
  • Corn, Tomato and Avocado Salad
  • TIP: This salad is my latest obsession and I’ve been eating it with everything!  I pan-fry about a cup of frozen corn in olive oil until it’s a little brown.  When it cools, I add it to a bowl with half a diced cucumber, 2 diced avocados, 2 diced tomatoes, lots of cilantro, a little onion (either red or green), garlic salt, pepper, olive oil and white wine vinegar.  So delicious and even great the next day for lunch…if there are any leftover.

Tuesday

  • Eggrolls (I’m hoping my butcher hasn’t purged everything not for Passover yet)
  • Beef and Broccoli Stir Fry
  • Brown Rice

Wednesday

  • Whole Wheat Spaghetti and Meatballs
  • Salad
  • Green Beans two ways

Thursday

  • Leftover night

Friday

  • Challah
  • Turkey Soup
  • Pineapple Chicken
  • Rice Pilaf
  • Sautéed Vegetables
  • Grandma’s Apple Chocolate Chip Bread
  • TIP: Sometimes it’s just nice to “through and dump” the chicken.  Pineapple chicken is delicious and easy….put a diced onion on the bottom of a baking dish.  “Through” your chicken breasts on top, “dump” enough duck sauce on top to cover it, sprinkle with a can of diced pineapple and enough paprika to give it some color.  Bake until done.  Simple, easy and delicious!

Thanks for sticking with me while I took the week off to unpack and attempt to organize our new home.  Keep those great ideas and new recipes coming!

Leave a Reply

