Menu: Week of April 21

Homemade Calzone

Homemade Calzone

So, better late than never.

Sunday

  • Homemade Hummus
  • Falafel
  • Israeli Salad
  • Israeli Pickles
  • Black Olives
  • Whole Wheat Pita
  • White and Sweet Potato Baked Fries with Zatar
  • TIP: Making hummus is much easier than you think.  I drain and rinse a can of garbanzo beans and add them to my blender.  Next I add 2 cloves of garlic, tahini (about 1/3 of a cup), juice from 2 lemons, olive oil and Kosher salt.  Once the blender is on, I can always add more olive oil if it’s too think.  This week I added a little too much garlic but we still ate it up!

Monday

  • Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • Salmon with Butter and Seasoned Salt (my middle child ate half of my husband’s piece of fish!)
  • Roasted Green Beans with Olive Oil and Garlic Salt

Tuesday

  • Vegetable Soup (thank you freezer stocked full of soup)
  • Chicken Strips with Honey Mustard, Ketchup and Duck Sauce Dips
  • Steamed Broccoli and Cauliflower
  • TIP: I slice chicken breast, paint them with mayonnaise mixed with garlic salt, Mrs. Dash and paprika, and then roll them in crushed Corn Flakes.  They take only about 20 minutes to bake and come out crunchy and not oily.

Wednesday

  • Hot and Sour Soup (yup, from the freezer)
  • Beef and Broccoli with Mushrooms, Spinach, Green Onions and Water Chestnuts
  • Eggrolls

Thursday

  • Leftover Night

Friday

  • We are out for Shabbat and looking forward to having someone else cook!

Saturday

  • Homemade Pizzas
  • Homemade Calzones
  • Salad
  • TIP: The pizza dough I get at Alesci’s is so good that I like to make calzones with it for the adults.  I like mine stuffed with whatever leftover veggies we have around the house and my husband likes his stuffed with fake meat (truth be told, he’d prefer it with real meat but it’s not happening in this Kosher house so he settles for the fake stuff!).

Thanks for reading and HAPPY EATING!

Leave a Reply

