Tonight’s Dinner

Birthday Dessert!

Birthday Dessert!

Tonight I decided to try something new for our Shabbat dinner.  It’s just the five of us and we have to eat and run to synagogue so my son can sing in the choir.   I’ve cooked a few things and taken a few things out of the fridge.

  • Challah
  • Top of the Rib Roast  (I consulted various websites and friends as to how to best cook this delicious looking piece of meat.  In the end, I dry rubbed it with whole wheat flour, dry mustard and pepper.  I dug about 12 holes in it and shoved in fresh garlic gloves and then pan seared all the sides to get a nice crust on it.  After that, it went in the oven for about an hour and half, covered.  I snuck a taste once it came out and cooled off a little and it’s quite tasty!)
  • Oven Roasted Green Beans with Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar
  • Leftover Lemon Orzo with Asparagus
  • Lefover BBQ Chicken
  • Pan Seared Butternut Squash (in a little of the roast juices)
  • Fresh Mango for Dessert

Saturday we are at shul for lunch and out for dinner but Sunday we are celebrating my father’s birthday.  I am in charge of dessert so we are having Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Balls (Buckeyes) and Coconut Cream Pie, both dairy free!

Here’s to a wonderful weekend!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

