Getting Back Into the Swing of Things

Waffle Bar

Waffle Bar

It has been forever since I sat down and updated my blog.  One of these days, I will fill you all in on my fantastic summer away.  But for now, I’ll just dive right back in to my menu planning.

Today was my daughter’s 7th Birthday Party.  We had 9 – 6/7 year olds, 1 – 4-year old and 3 – 3 year olds at our home for a pajama party.  I’d love to take credit for this fantastic birthday party idea but none of it was mine.  The credit all goes to a very dear friend of mine who helped me plan the whole thing, down to the menu and activity, and then helped me with the execution.  Love you Sho!

The party started Saturday night in my kitchen with my borrowed, dueling-waffle machines cooking Belgian Waffles simultaneously.  Then, the girls arrived Sunday morning in their favorite pajamas and started the morning off with a dance party in my living room.  Once everyone had danced some energy out, the arts and crafts portion of the party was under way.  With my kitchen table covered in a plastic tablecloth, each girl was given a clay pot, a sponge brush and acrylic paint.  They really had a great time painting their pots and each one was different and just as beautiful as their friend’s.  After they were cleaned up (leaving my bathroom sink very colorful), we moved into the dining room that was covered in princess pink and headed to the waffle bar.  My daughter requested the following toppings for her party: bananas, blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, kiwi, maraschino cherries, sprinkles (we had two different kinds), chocolate sauce and whipped cream (of course).  My friends that stayed to help and I found it all very interested that the older girls skipped the fruit and went straight for the whipped cream, sprinkles and chocolate while the younger girls had a little bit of everything!  Once breakfast was done and the girls moved on to coloring and playing, the moms and I filled each pot with dirt and planted cute succulent plants for everyone to take home.

photo copy

My daughter’s creation

An hour an a half later, everyone went home with their projects, their bellies full and the opening of presents lasted longer than the cleanup; just the way it should be!  All in all, I think it was a very successful party and I would do it all over again!

Stay tuned this week for last week’s menu.  I tried out some new recipes and cooked 4 out of 5 nights.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Getting Back Into the Swing of Things

Leave a Reply

