Shabbes Lunch

Happy Birthday Craig!

Happy Birthday Craig!

Last Shabbes, our synagogue’s Rabbinical Intern was spending the weekend with us and my husband had the day off from grad school so we thought it was a great opportunity to have friends over for Shabbes lunch.  With the snow falling outside, we sat down with 8 adults in the dining room and 8 kids in the kitchen (the only time I think we’ve ever had the same number of adults as kids and only because I didn’t count the 6-week old sleeping in the corner!).  Here was our menu:

  • Homemade Hummus – I’ve been asked for my recipe several times and I don’t really have one but here’s how I put it together: 1 can of chickpeas (rinsed), 1 clove of garlic, tahini, olive oil, kosher salt and the juice of 2 lemons.  I put everything in my blender and pulse until it has the right consistency and taste I’m looking for.  If needed, I add a little more salt and olive oil.
  • Challah (I cheated and went with store bought…don’t tell anyone)
  • Carrots, celery, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, red and yellow peppers
  • Peanut Butter and Jelly Rolls on whole wheat bread for the kids table
  • Butternut Squash Soup – a new recipe that will be posted shortly under Soups We Love
  • Baked Steelhead – it costs less than Salmon, has a less-fishy taste and the kids gobbled it up.  I sprinkle it with olive oil and seasoned salt and bake on 350.
  • Pineapple Kugel (my mother-in-law’s recipe)
  • Corn, cilantro, tomato, hearts of palm salad
  • Roasted Mushrooms with Garlic
  • Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Red Velvet two-layer birthday cake for a dear friend and lunch guest

While it may seem like a lot of work, almost all of the food was made by Thursday so that come Saturday, all I needed to do was warm it up.  For me, the up until 11:30 a couple nights in a row cooking is all worth it when I sit down in my dining room with great friends and family.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

