Friday Night Dinner in New Jersey

Chicken Before Chicken AfterWhile I do loving getting away for the holidays, one of the best parts of Thanksgiving is the leftovers in your fridge the next morning.  When you cross state lines to attend Thanksgiving dinner, leftover are a little harder to come by.  This year, I called ahead and requested the leftover turkey bones and carcass from my husband’s cousins for our Shabbes Dinner in Jersey.  For the first time in 13-years, my mother-in-law handed over the reins of her kitchen to me and I cooked dinner from start to finish for 11 of us (2 grandparents, 1 aunt, 1 uncle and 2 cousins plus the 5 of us).  My kids loved sharing our Shabbes traditions with the rest of the family.  Here’s what we feasted on:

  • Whole Wheat and Regular Challah
  • Leftover Turkey Soup with Whole Wheat Egg Noodles
  • Roasted Brussel Spouts, Zucchini and Squash (all sprinkled with olive oil and garlic salt and roasted on 375 for about 30 minutes)
  • Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Bananas and Honey – sooooo easy and sooooo good!
  • Honey Roasted Chicken with Lemon and Tarragon
  • TIP: This is one of my all-time favorite chicken dishes.  It is super easy, so delicious and so juicy!  I prepared the lemon-tarragon margarine and the honey/oil drizzle in Cleveland before we left which cut my prep-time in Jersey in half.
  • Pumpkin Pie

Dinner was delicious, I really didn’t spend too much time in the kitchen and everyone seemed to enjoy spending another night with the family.

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

