Menu: Week of December 8

Winter Vegetable Soup

Winter Vegetable Soup

We had another hectic week filed with study sessions, board meetings and guitar lessons so I made our menu this week pretty easy and prepped each meal the night before.

Sunday

  • Shabbes Dinner Leftovers
  • TIP: There’s something really great about starting the week off by pulling leftovers out of the fridge and throwing them in the microwave!

Monday

  • Carrots and Dip
  • Steamed Green Beans
  • Pizza
  • TIP: While I usually make my own pizza, we had a change of plans on Monday so I picked up a few frozen pizzas at the grocery store in the morning and added my own toppings before putting them in the oven.  It’s a nice combo of store-bought and homemade.

Tuesday

  • Hot and Sour Soup
  • Eggrolls
  • Brown Rice
  • Beef and Broccoli (also had spinach, water chestnuts, button mushrooms and cilantro)
  • TIP: All prepped even before sitting down to dinner on Monday so it was all ready when I walk in the door on Tuesday at 4:00.

Wednesday

  • Baked Potatoes
  • Madras Lentils
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Chives
  • TIP: Such a simple and easy dinner and great on a cold and snowy night.  I even put the potatoes, wrapped in foil, in the oven before I left for work and set the timer to go on at 5:00.  When we walked in the house at 5:45, all I had to do was set the table and put out the sides.  It was beautiful!

Thursday

  • Nicoise Salad with Steelhead (We like our nicoise salad with hard boiled eggs, steamed green beans, tomatoes and boiled small red potatoes.  The salad dressing is lemon juice, dijon mustard, olive oil, rice wine vinegar, salt and pepper.)
  • Israeli Couscous Soup

Friday

  • Challah and Homemade Hummus
  • Winter Vegetable Soup (We’ve had the soup many times at the home of close friends, but I decided it was time to make it myself.  I doubled the amount of veggies, switched the escarole for kale and quadrupled the liquid.  I made the soup on Thursday and left it out on my porch to chill for the night – gotta love winters in Cleveland when your sunporch becomes your fridge!)
  • Turkey Schnitzel
  • Sauteed Spinach
  • Kale Chips
  • Rice Pilaf
  • Zucchini Cake with Chocolate Chips, Walnuts and Cherries

Thanks for following!  Stay warm and happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

