Menu: Week of January 5

The fruits of my busy Saturday night cooking binge

The fruits of my busy Saturday night cooking binge

After two week of Winter Break, we were all looking forward to getting back to our regularly scheduled program but nature had a different idea.  It is now -12 degrees (but feels like -37…because -12 wasn’t bad enough!) and every parent I know is now praying for school at least on Wednesday.  Since we knew it was going to be cold, I hit three grocery stores in one afternoon so I wouldn’t have to leave the house unless absolutely necessary once it got cold.  Then on Saturday night I used my biggest pot  to make my mother’s vegetable soup and then made a small pot of Cream of Mushroom Soup.  The rest of the week is all about warm, comfort food.

Sunday

  • Homemade Fish Nuggets with Tartar Sauce
  • Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Casserole
  • Sauteed Green Beans
  • Banana Strawberry Bread (My Banana Bread calls for Plain Greek Yogurt but I only had strawberry.  It was extra delicious!)
  • TIP: I used frozen Cod Nuggets from Trader Joe’s but next time I’ll buy the whole piece of fish.  The nuggets have too many little pieces that aren’t worth dipping and breading; and I’ll make twice as much.  The fish went faster than the macaroni did!

Monday

  • Vegetable Soup
  • Sloppy Joe’s on Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns (or lettuce for the adults)
  • Broccoli Slaw – I buy the bag of Broccoli Slaw (better than the bagged cole slaw) and use a white vinegar, oil, sugar, dry mustard dressing.  It ads a nice crunch to the Sloppy Joe’s and it’s really good on cold cuts.

Tuesday

  • Baked Ziti (made a few weeks ago and put in the freezer)
  • Carrots and cucumbers
  • Salad

Wednesday

Thursday

  • Leftover Night

Friday – This Friday our son has a sleepover at our shul so I picked one of our favorite meals that he used to love.  I look forward to not having to beg him to eat it.

  • Challah
  • Black Bean Soup – a favorite of my daughter’s so I make it without the jalapeños
  • Fish Tacos
  • Corn, Avocado, Tomato Salad
  • Creamy Cilantro Dressing
  • Sauteed Spinach
  • Chocolate Chip, Cranberry, Oatmeal Cookies

Happy cooking and stay warm out there!

Leave a Reply

